Bacon Lovin’

I never really thought too much about Valentine’s Day. I’ve never been a hater of the holiday and have never been a love freak about it either. This year, though, I wanted to do something special for my boy but not too mushy gushy.

What better way to do that with bacon hearts?!

I simply cut 5 bacon slices (3 for him, 2 for me) in half, folded each half into a heart and baked for 20 minutes in a 400 degree oven. Alongside the bacon hearts, I made strawberry cream cheese stuffed french toast with about a tablespoon of strawberry cream cheese spread with sliced strawberries in between two sprouted grain slices of bread, dipped into a vanilla-cinnamon-egg mixture, and pan fried until crisp. Post picture, real maple syrup was drizzled all over the toast.

Yesterday when I was finished with my classes for the day, Seth directed me to his refrigerator and inside was a fruit bouquet!!! I’ve always wished for one, unfortunately though, the small town I am from was never close enough to a place that sold them. What makes my gift 1000487x more special was that he hand made it!! He bought the skewers from Bed, Bath & Beyond and the fruit and garnish(kale and iceburg lettuce) from Kroger. The flower/snowflake shaped pineapple was cut with a cookie cutter I was given. He even bought dark chocolate to be made into a melty dip for the fruit!

To keep with the food lovin’ theme and since he works tonight, we celebrated love day last night with more food. He roasted a pork tenderloin and we enjoyed the lean cut meat with baked sweet potatoes and sautéed broccoli.

Pork Tenderloin

  • 1 lean-cut pork tenderloin
  • freshly-squeeze lemon juice from one lemon
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • half a package of fresh rosemary
  • about a tablespoon of minced garlic
  • salt and pepper, to taste

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients to make the pork marinade. In a shallow dish, marinate pork tenderloin using the lemon-rosemary mixture preferably overnight or for a minimum of 3 hours. In a large skillet, sear the tenderloin to lock in all of the fresh juices and to produce a nice, browned crust. Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit. After browning all sides of the tenderloin, transfer to a baking dish and place into heated oven. Season with more salt and pepper. Bake for 2 hours or until a cooking thermometer reads the desired temperature (160 F-170 F). Garnish with fresh lemon slices and rosemary twigs if you wish. Enjoy!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

P.S. I just realized I covered a breakfast and dinner idea and the fruit can serve as dessert. Left-over pork for lunch tomorrow. How’s that for a made with love full meal idea (for me and you!?) You’re welcome.

xo.

One response

Leave a Reply

