Happy Days

You know those days when you really don’t do a whole lot but it’s just an all around good day? That was my day, today. I think it all started when I slept in until 9 (a big deal, nowadays) and woke up to a sun shining in my face. I love sunny weekends

Breakfast: Maple oatmeal with banana, blueberries, and strawberries. No peanut or almond butter today- just 100% maple syrup!

In one of my many day-dreams last week, I was wishing there was a local pizza joint nearby that offered whole-wheat dough and fresh ingredients. Well what do you know, on my way home from class last night I noticed a new pizza place not even a mile away! I Googled the menu and read reviews on the restaurants Facebook page and was so happy to read they used fresh, local ingredients and free-range meats. All of their sauces, dressings, and doughs are homemade!

As soon as I realized the kind of place it was, I told Seth he and I had lunch plans at Uncle Maddio’s! Uncle Maddio’s is a pizza joint franchise that serves make-your-own pizzas, salads, and paninis and has the “tell us what ya’ want” approach and prepares your meal right in front of you. The above photo was taken right inside of the booth we sat in.

I ordered the Greek side salad to go along with my individual-sized pizza! It contained the typical greek salad ingredients- mixed greens, tomatoes, red onion, olives, banana peppers, feta- and topped with two toasted garlic-parmesan homemade croutons! It was big enough for two or for one with left-overs (aka dinner for me)

The good stuff! I ordered a 9-inch jamaican jerk on whole-wheat. Toppings: tomato-basil sauce, mozzarella, grilled jerk chicken*, red onions, green peppers, pineapples and cilantro. I added artichokes at the last minute! So, so good. I had half for lunch, half for dinner! I will definitely return to Uncle Maddio’s soon.

Even after maple oatmeal, greek salad and pizza, I managed to sneak in a snack around 3! I came across a recipe of Homemade Maple-Cinnamon Almond Butter and jumped right into the kitchen and whipped up a batch in the food processor. I was lickin’ the bowl clean like a kid with cookie dough! I’m not sure if I will purchase store-bought almond butter again. So much more creamier and cheaper when made at home. Extra bonus for knowing exactly what goes into your food.

Have a great weekend, friends!

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Not a Sun day | clueless nutrition

Leave a Reply

