Biscuits n’ stuff

Since I chose not to go anywhere for Spring Break besides a short visit back home, I have had a ton of free time. I would write and post about the work-outs I’ve been doing, but I haven’t been working out. So what have I been doing? Cooking and baking (aka grocery shopping, lots of dish washing and kitchen clean ups)! OH, and EATING (duh!)

Image

This week I’ve baked a from-scratch cake, made skinny sloppy joes, baked sea salt chocolate chip cookie caramel bars, made caramelized mushroom and onion biscuits and swiss burger sliders! I’ve been making messes and plumping up my booty along the way.

Image

Usually Seth is the biscuit maker around these parts. I took matter in my own hands when I saw this recipe for caramelized mushroom and onion biscuits from Joy the Baker. I love caramelized ANYTHING and I definitely having a thang for biscuits so I knew I had to try these right away. Surprisingly, I had most of the ingredients on hand! I halved the recipe that made 6 perfectly-sized biscuits!

Image

These biscuits are perfect for those who prefer savory with a dab of butter or for those who prefer sweet by pairing them with jam! I stuffed scrambled eggs in mine, Seth “layered” his with a forkful of bacon, egg and biscuit in each bite.

Caramelized Mushroom and Onion Biscuits from Joy the Baker

makes 12 biscuits

Print this Recipe!

1/2 pound cremini mushrooms, sliced

1 tablespoon olive oil and 1 tablespoon unsalted butter

1 small yellow onion, sliced

1 tablespoon olive oil and 1 tablespoon unsalted butter

1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar or balsamic vinegar reduction

salt and coarse ground black pepper

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 Tablespoons sugar

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup vegetable shortening, cold and cut into cubes

1/2 cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes

1 egg, beaten

3/4 cup buttermilk, cold

1 egg beaten for egg wash

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of butter in a medium saute pan over medium heat.  Add mushrooms and allow to cook until tender and golden brown, stirring occasionally.  Add a sprinkling of salt and pepper.  Remove from the pan.  Add 1 tablespoon olive oil and 1 tablespoon butter in the same pan.  Add onions and cook down until tender and browned, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat, add the mushrooms back to the pan along with thyme, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.  Set aside to cool.

In a mixing bowl, sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Cut in shortening and butter until mixture resembles coarse meal.  In another bowl, combine egg and milk and beat lightly with a fork.  Add to flour mixture all at once, stirring enough to make a soft dough.  Add the cooled mushroom and onion mixture and blend together.

Turn out onto a floured board and knead about 15 times.  Roll or pat out into a 1-inch thickness.  Cut into 2-inch rounds using a biscuit cutter or cut into 2×2-inch squares.  Reshape and roll dough to create more biscuits with excess scraps.    Place on an ungreased baking sheet, brush with egg wash and sprinkle with coarse sea salt.   Bake at 425 degrees F for 12-15 minutes.  Serve warm as an egg sandwich or with gravy.  These biscuits are best eaten the day they’re made, but will last up to 2 days.

Image

I don’t have any pictures to post from my skinny Sloppy Joe’s but they tasted pretty delicious. In a really messy kind of way! If I make them again, I will post them. What I did have though was a half pound of ground round left over. That’s when the idea of sliders came to mind, and after searching around a few blogs for recipes I found the most popular way was to bake them. Who woulda think it?!

 Image

I sliced and chopped half a onion, placed them into a 8×8 baking dish, mashed the 85/15 ground round on top, dashed Worcesthire sauce all over, and topped with salt + pepper! ~16 minutes at 400 degrees made a quick and cute meal!

After cooking, I cut each patty into equally sized squares and topped them with a small slice of swiss! Broiled on high for ~2 minutes in a oven proof cast iron skillet!

Image

Imagine a nice yellow bun in the picture! I promise I’m on no low-carb diet but all I had were sandwich thins and I figured there was no point. Perfect bite-sized!

I would’ve loved to fancy these up with crunchy lettuce, tomato, mustard and dill pickle but all I had was mustard and jalapeño! Still worked.

Image

About those dishes, messes and big booty gainin’…. I’ll take it if the above foods are involved. So daggum delicious!

I’m also trying to forget the fact I only have one day to bake/cook/relax until my Spring Break is OVER. What?!?!?! For now, I’m back at spilling more vanilla extract, trying to sneak bacon into every meal and cussing at the oven for burning me. It’s been a wild SPRING BREAK 2K12 over here, I tell ya.

Image

3 responses

Leave a Reply

